Fork me on GitHub

#1 2015-05-22 13:47:06

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

[FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

I added a new icon item to the bottom task bar's task bar. The new item won't move up, and the other icons won't move down. Without a fix, the workaround would be rebuild the task bar every time you wanted to add a button above the exit. I Also have weird problems with adding icons to the task bars.  They don't usually go left or right as directed when I set them up. When I say left, it invariable go right anyway. Then when I try to send it to the proper side of the screen (via rthe right click), a second icon will often appear next to the first (which is still in its original location).  Eventually when I get an icon where I want it, I delete the extras.  It's definitely glitchy.  I thought it was temporary but it's still doing it on a consistent basis. 

Quad Core x64, Windows 8.1, Opera 29.0 (x86)
oneye 0.9.5, Patches: 0.9.6 settings file, .htaccess allows uploads of 128 Megs (too high though), eyecontrol/system.code, eyeDesk/apps&events, unoconv-master, eyeDesigner. I think this the most up to date oneye setup possible. I also have installed- eyeRune, eyePublicMon and eyeSwapUser.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#2 2015-05-25 14:47:59

lars-sh
Administrator
From: near Hamburg, Germany
Registered: 2011-07-14
Posts: 723
Website

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down


Best regards,
Lars Knickrehm

The oneye project.

Offline

#3 2015-05-26 15:26:12

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

only the up and down motion seems to be fixed.  The left and right are still goofy. 

I'm avoiding adding any more spaces to the bar.  The first one went to the wrong side of the bar and when I tried to move it multiplied until I had at least 5 or 6 invisible little boxes on the bar.  Then I thought I was going to delete one of the little spaces, and it deleted the windows tab instead and it doesn't come back, at least not on its own.  I had to reset eyeDock back to default. 

I found another bug the other day, and it is potentially serious.  I'll post it in its own separate thread though, once I figure out how to describe the problem. It would be probably be easier to make a short video, if that's ok?  As long as its less than 25 megs I can post it on the FB group and delete it when no longer needed.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#4 2015-05-29 14:32:33

lars-sh
Administrator
From: near Hamburg, Germany
Registered: 2011-07-14
Posts: 723
Website

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

Things work quite well for me now. Please make sure, you're really using the latest revision from GitHub.


Best regards,
Lars Knickrehm

The oneye project.

Offline

#5 2015-05-29 19:11:08

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

I'm about as sure as I can be.  I always keep a copy of the previous app.  so in the desktop app I have 2 events.eyecode.  One dated 3/29/14 and the one I'm using is dated 5/14/15.  That's last update I knew about. 

Here's what happens: the first thing I do is to try to add an icon to the left and it will always put it to the right.  I just duplicated the occurrence to be sure.  After that, it generally starts doing all sorts of unpredictable things.  Many times, it will duplicate an icon when I tell it to move.  The icons will be one atop the other until you log out and log back in, but if you delete one or successfully move one, it will reveal the others.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#6 2015-05-29 19:24:17

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

hold on, I see now, that's on local.  The hosted has a newer date of 5/21  oops.  BUT I just went to hosted and it did the same behavior anyway. I have set up a second admin account.   os1.hawkwolf.net   Lars/Lars, reset password upon entry.  If you have a few minutes you can check it out.  I just tried it using this login and same thing happens.

PS- the SU app is installed on the host and you can check it out as well.  Switch over to root to see the start of my customizations on the overall look and feel of the gui.

Last edited by Wolfy (2015-05-29 19:27:58)


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#7 2015-05-29 19:58:14

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

I'm back on github and it seems you caught some errors in the root directory.  That's good.  I hope you fixed the serious one where a folder will jump into another folder by itself.  I didn't have much problem creating a folder, but when I tried to open one it would move it to some other directory a few rows up.  It really only happened after I got past the first "page" of icons.  I don't quite understand the changes to .gitignore, but I'll use it if I can.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#8 2015-05-29 20:27:42

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

I do apologize.  I don't think I had all those updates from 4 days ago.  I'm a real noob here as far as version control on github goes.  I don't know how to get notifications. 

Hey, that's something that would be really nice to have-  Some sort of automated system updater from github.  Check github for new components every day or every time you log in.  something like that.  It would be good if the app kept backups of any previous versions in case someone wanted to rollback for whatever reason.  Almost all modern OS'es and software, in general, do self updates.   Ubuntu and Windows particularly so!  but yeah that would seriously help!


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#9 2015-05-30 13:27:16

lars-sh
Administrator
From: near Hamburg, Germany
Registered: 2011-07-14
Posts: 723
Website

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

You should be able to use https://windows.github.com/ to track changes on that repository. Use that local installation for testing and update it whenever the code over at GitHub is updated.


Best regards,
Lars Knickrehm

The oneye project.

Offline

#10 2015-05-30 17:00:57

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

Oh ok, I'm downloading and installing now.  I really just fell off the turnip truck when it comes to this sort of stuff.  It's almost as bad as when I was trying to setup debian linux on an Amiga back in about 1997.  I finally got the early versions of Gnome desktop to run on it natively, but they didn't have proper video drivers yet for my setup so if I wanted a different resolution then I had to write my own code too.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#11 2015-05-30 17:21:45

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

my oneye system is back up.  I did something wrong when updating the exexml lib.  I rolled back to previous on that one and tada,  I'll fix it after or while checking out the github software.  thanks again.

And just to be clear, I don't think it's too late to save oneye from being an old toy nobody plays with anymore.  I do think, it's gotten long in the tooth and in need of facelift.  A rebirth would be better.  I would really rebrand and remarket.  I can tell just by reading all the docs how closely you (Lars) are tied to the original eyeos, but I think I would drop all the "eye"s.  Especially with all the problems I am having to make many of the eyeos apps work, it might be better to separate this project from the old.  I would grab, fix and bundle all the best code you can find and call it something else. heck, even LarsOS has a nice ring to it!  During installation provide options to tailor the install.  Such as do you want to install the Flash components, or do you want to install the ecommerce packet, or do you want the social networking packet, or do you want the gaming packet.......  That would be awesome too.

Thanks again, for making it all possible in the first place!


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#12 2015-05-31 01:24:10

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

I don't understand the github software.  All it did was make me setup my own repository.  I did set one up.  Perhaps, I can upload the few successful modifications I have made to the old code, but I don't yet understand how this software is connects to your account to inform me of updates. 

I still haven't gotten the new XML lib to install.

Overall, I'm not having a good day, so I'll get back to it later.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#13 2015-05-31 09:25:57

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

My last post did not go through.  I got my installation fixed again. and the left/right bug is still on the bottom bar.  So I went to github and grabbed the entire thing as a zip file and unpacked to my localhost.  The bug is still there.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#14 2015-06-01 17:01:50

lars-sh
Administrator
From: near Hamburg, Germany
Registered: 2011-07-14
Posts: 723
Website

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

Please reset your eyeDock configuration and tell me exactly, what icon you moved to where.


Best regards,
Lars Knickrehm

The oneye project.

Offline

#15 2015-06-01 21:54:01

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

The very first thing you do is try to put an icon on the left (of the bottom bar) and it will put it on the right.    It's the same on my working versions and when using the master from github.  I normally use opera, but the same behavior occurs on firefox.  Could it be a screen resolution issue?  My screen is 1600 x 1200.

There is one new different "bug" on my modified config.  If you immediately place an icon to the right, it will appear on the right, but not until after all open windows are closed.  This does not occur on the master from github, so probably not worry about it.

Last edited by Wolfy (2015-06-02 01:02:53)


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#16 2015-06-02 12:40:22

lars-sh
Administrator
From: near Hamburg, Germany
Registered: 2011-07-14
Posts: 723
Website

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

Haha, OK, now I understand that adding problem. But I'm sorry, that's a WON'T FIX. That taskbar element, which is showing the opened windows is positioned at the bottom left, so all elements are added right from that one.

Btw. you cannot position that taskbar somewhere else right now, 'cause none of our themes support that. I added an error message pointing that out.


Best regards,
Lars Knickrehm

The oneye project.

Offline

#17 2015-06-02 12:58:35

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: [FIXED] Menu items won't move up and down

Hmm, since it can't be fixed, could you remove the option of right and left and just say "add element to bottom bar"?  That would save some confusion.

The elements of the bottom bar will eventually move and go to the left side, but I was also getting more strange behavior (mostly involving duplicate elements) when trying to move them.  That's how I deleted the opened window part of the bar- by trying to delete some extra blank spaces that I didn't really ask for.  Currently, I have gotten the main bottom task menu placed all the way over to the left side, like in windows.  And it's all dressed up with spaces and bars, but I'm not sure that I could do it again.  It was quite tricky.

I noticed it's not possible to have a task menu exactly like windows as there is no submenu option.  This is how I thought of using the multiple mini-Action bars as submenus.  Floating transparent submenus with a close button is actually pretty cool for any OS.  I just have to figure out how many submenus I will need and which apps will be launched from which submenu.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB