Fork me on GitHub

Announcement

The oneye project has been discontinued. You might not expect further fixes and support from us. All community related systems are set to read-only mode. Though feel free to download and use oneye as-is or even fork it over at GitHub.

#1 2015-05-28 02:16:43

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

help fixing Switch User App

I have spent two days trying to figure out how to fix this great little app from the eyeos-app site.  An admin is able to run this program to switch from his own account to any user (and back again).  Well, it works really well, except it doesn't clear the screen, so when the user's icons appear, they are placed on top of the admin's (non-functioning) icons.  Switching back causes a third set of icons to appear, the first two being just "ghosts", etc..  I have tried many different ways to clear the admin screen before loading the user's screen and just haven't figured it out.  If the layer had been created by a createLayer, I might have been able to use a hideLayer/showLayer, but if it is a layer, it seems to have been created by a js routine, and I can't figure out its name to put in the hide/show commands.  This is a much needed and well-done app otherwise.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#2 2015-05-28 06:56:35

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: help fixing Switch User App

PS- My first attempt did remove the "ghosts" by closing/ending the session after it had been been saved, but it kept triggering the time out.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#3 2015-05-28 21:06:09

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: help fixing Switch User App

Do we have anybody besides Lars?  All I hear is crickets. 

I also need some help figuring out Public Library calls.  It's not in the docs that I have.  I'm working on Public Monitor, but either the calls to Public Library are wrong or the way it gets sent to app window is wrong. 

Generally, I want to patch and fix some of this code (starting with the "third party" stuff), but I need some nudges in the right direction.  Honestly a few of these apps if properly tweaked would make excellent additions to the core. 

But speaking of the core- There are still quite a few little bugs in there too.  For instance, I know that sound works, I get login/close sounds and get sound when I play a youtube video in Iframe (Iframe gives sound even when sound is turned off in the prefs!), but when I play an MP3, no sound. 

And of course there's still problems translating office docs.  It's impossible unless you get your host provider to give you all the software you need and put it where the program will find it.  My best guess for a replacement is a standalone Java packet, but two major browsers are already dropping Java.

I'm starting to have problems using any kind of Flash software.  Too many of my potential customers are on tiny little cell phones and tablets or even surf using a game console and these don't handle flash.  They don't particularly like frames either, but the whole thing would have to be rewritten in html5/css to get rid of frames.

To fix some problems with the core, I have thought about looking into eyeos2.5 and seeing what I can take from it.  I can easily install it on another subdirectory and peek inside.  It crashes a lot, but maybe I can find something useful.

Overall, the current oneye seems dead and weighted down by a handful of outdated concepts and deprecated software.  It's gonna take a lot of creativity and late nights to revive it into something for the modern world. 

Honestly, Lars, and I mean this with all sincerity, if I were you, I would rebrand and remarket it.  New name, new non-corporate look, all apps up and working on at least one major browser. I always want to use opera, but in this case, I would have to suggest Firefox as the default.  Since oneye is free anyway, you may as well market to the small niche businesses and drop the corporate look.  I'm telling you just some of the things I would do if I could program as well as you.  Honestly, if I could program as well as you I would have branched off into my own version immediately. I believe there are still acceptable ways to monetize a free product.

I'm not wanting to rain on any parades, but I'm the big idea guy, always have been.  I love getting into the nitty gritty as well, but my head is always seeing this big picture.  I need about a dozen clones and 2 dozen minions because I have so many ideas going at once.

Well, for starters!  Can anybody help me fix the Switch User App??


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#4 2015-05-28 21:54:14

sazearte
Member
From: France
Registered: 2013-10-23
Posts: 234

Re: help fixing Switch User App

Make oneye applications is not so complicated, you can even from applications from the Mozilla Demo Studio.

There is no flash applications except the game of failure and Tetravex.
If we know a minimum php, javascript and html5. With good documentation, I think the project can move forward.

I am currently in the process of drafting documentation, with relevant examples.
Please use oneye master version from github, because many bugs is fixed

I create themes Oneye responsive, if you want I can share them.

What is Switch User App ?

Why do you use Java for office? Java applet and flash is dead.

Actualy oneye is the best open source webos.
I invite you to see the webos symbiose http://symbiose.fr.cr/ , the project was abandoned

For tablet, i create the aero snaps effect for oneye window, i can share this if you want.

Lars, Is it possible you to make new website for oneye project?
For the community to share software, tutorials ...

You use joomla, why not install the component kunena for example ?

Last edited by sazearte (2015-05-28 22:02:06)

Offline

#5 2015-05-29 00:30:54

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: help fixing Switch User App

For me, it is hard to make these old apps work.

The multimedia player and multi-file uploads are also flash.  And unfortunately I get no sound.  It runs and the little equalizer lights dance around, but no sound.  I get sound from other apps though.

I have patched in the old documentation.  Are you using the same apps and rewriting the xml part, or starting from scratch.  The old doc and welcome apps work nicely just need all the text and pictures replaced.  Of course, oneye has it's help app too.

Yes, unfortunately Flash and Java are all but buried. 

I was looking for a standalone alternative for using UnoConv because my server won't provide me with access to Open Office.  Only thing that looked promising so far is a Java Applet.

I think I have the latest version from github or elsewhere. reading as 0.9.6.

Lars asked me to beta test the apps from eyeos-apps site.  So far not a single one of them have worked properly, with the possible exception of eyeRune (a game), but it is seriously heavy Java based. 

Switch Users is one of the old eyeos apps from that site.  It works better than most, but leaves ghost icons during the transfers.  I have tried to fix the problem every way I can think of and no good.  Mostly when I run these old apps, I just get an empty window. 

Switch User is listed as SU on the apps site and I would send it to you now, but don't think attachments are allowed.  Can you Download it and check it out.  I think it is very helpful program but that bug is annoying.  If the icons on your screen are in the same place as the user's screens you will not see it.  Move the user's icon and underneath is a ghost image of your icon.  I have personalized my root screen icons, and it is obvious.
 
I am not a php, javascript, web programmer at all, so all I have been able to do little mods.  Like fixing a missing icon, or a missing/broken info.xml.  I do have some experience with programming languages and this php looks a lot like pascal, so I am trying to learn it. 

I would love to see your themes, so I can get a handle on how to convert the old broken ones to the new format.

No, I do not use Joomla.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#6 2015-05-29 07:55:22

sazearte
Member
From: France
Registered: 2013-10-23
Posts: 234

Re: help fixing Switch User App

I create multimedia player for oneye, i can to share for community.

My apps use Media Element library for play video and sound with html5 or flash or silverlight. http://mediaelementjs.com/

Offline

#7 2015-05-29 08:54:29

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: help fixing Switch User App

That looks good.  I downloaded it, but is there some easy instruction kit to install it with oneye?


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#8 2015-05-29 14:29:32

lars-sh
Administrator
From: near Hamburg, Germany
Registered: 2011-07-14
Posts: 731
Website

Re: help fixing Switch User App

I guess Wolfy meant this application: http://eyeos-apps.org/content/show.php?content=136255 .

sazearte, if you like, create GitHub pull requests for your tweaks. I'll accept them after short testing.

I'm using good ol' WordPress for www.oneye-project.org .


Best regards,
Lars Knickrehm

The oneye project.

Offline

#9 2015-05-29 16:29:31

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: help fixing Switch User App

yes, that is the app (SU) I was working on for 2 days straight trying to kill the ghost images.  If we could fix that one little bug, it would make a nice permanent addition to the project.  I was thinking of a rename- either just spelling it out "Switch User" or maybe even calling it "eyeSU". The name's not really important right now though. 

I found another app that works really well, but it's simply a flash game loader.  I will probably use it on my site any way as games is what my site is about.  I really had high hopes for these old apps, but most are broken somehow. 

I tried zoho office suite app to see if it would solve the office conversion problem.  In theory it should, but the links are all out of date or maybe even permanently gone after all these years.  Same with FBchat.  I'm trying to investigate further to see if I can update the links and get them to work.

Even the old documentation app had a dead link to the old eyeos site, which I replaced with a link to a local pdf file. 

I am documenting on paper and inside the scripts any time I make modifications to the xml or app code.  To make it easier to uninstall apps, I also jot down any files that get overwritten during an install and keep a copy of the original in the same folder.  That has only happened once so far with eyeWelcome (and it's French counterpart).


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#10 2015-05-30 05:53:20

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: help fixing Switch User App

Apparently even updating is too hard for me.  I put in the 4 new files and my site went down.  I think I can get it going again tomorrow.


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

#11 2015-06-16 15:09:32

Wolfy
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 313

Re: help fixing Switch User App

I've given up trying to "fix" this one.  I will include it in my collection of working apps, with an additional text file, labeled "Known Issues", detailing the "bug".


Wolfy
https://www.facebook.com/groups/oneye/
Currently accepting new users...  http://www.OS1.hawkwolf.net
onEye admins: OS1 is a beta testing hotbed. Non-core apps available upon request.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB